Month: March 2009

Nelita True master class

Nelita True, internationally celebrated pianist and professor of piano at Eastman School of Music, New York, held a master class with select Lawrence Academy of Music piano students on Saturday, February 7.

Pictured students are: Anna Crosby, Marc Padilla, Sonia Tallroth (seated).

Students who also played but are not pictured are: Payton Bayer and Nathan Li.


Submitted by Emily Robida, Academy piano teacher

Encore Awards-2009

The Lawrence Academy of Music unveiled a new merit award for our auditioned instrumental ensembles – THE ENCORE AWARD. In addition to receiving a $200 Academy scholarship, criteria includes a strong work ethic, consistent contribution to the group, exemplary attitude, evidence of musical growth over time and potential for leadership in coming years.

The awards were presented at the Sunday, March 15 concerts in the Lawrence Memorial Chapel by the ensemble conductors. Ian Schuh, violin, received the ASTRO (Academy String Orchestra) award presented by Carrie Gruselle; Amanda Olson, tenor saxophone, and Russell Burton, percussion, received the Symphonic Band awards presented by Jon Meyer and Kathryn Yuill, percussion, and Michael Hughes, trumpet, received the Wind Ensemble awards presented by Laura Sindberg. Congratulations and best wishes to these fine recipients!

Fred Snyder

Director, Lawrence Academy of Music

Honors Recital

The Lawrence Memorial Chapel provided the gorgeous setting for our annual Honors Recital on Sunday, February 15, 2009. It was a grand day in the life of the Academy as 19 talented and dedicated students presented a wide variety of excellent musical selections for the appreciative audience. And what variety it was: instruments represented included everything from strings and piano to trombone, oboe and a first ever double bassist! Music from the Baroque period clear through to contemporary composers was performed by students as young as 7 years old through high school students. Congratulations to all who worked so hard in preparing for this event. Our judges listened to 37 applicants and deliberated hard to select the 19 winners as well as a slate of Honorable Mention performers.

Honorable Mention winners are:

Payton Bayer, piano

Grace Flaherty, violin

Payton Fors, piano

Luke Povolny, violin

Yen Thao, cello

Benjamin Thomas, violin

Honors Recital winners are:

Emily Hauer, violin

Ty Peterson, trombone

Gabriel Smith, piano

Joanna Kamps, oboe

Kaylann Adler, piano

John Kasper, cello

Daria Van De Loo, piano

David Chapman-Orr, double bass

Anna Crosby, piano

Alicia Mose, violin

Donnerstag String Quintet

Grace Crosby and Becky Johnson, violin; Karen Taylor, viola; John Kasper and Hana Pagel, cello

Philip Buchman, piano

Nathan Mose, cello

Bridget Flaherty, piano

Eva Knab, violin

Jonathan Kamps, viola

Tadhg Sauvey, cello

Brandon & Nathan Li, piano duet

Becky Johnson, violin

Fred Snyder

Director, Lawrence Academy of Music