The Lawrence Academy of Music unveiled a new merit award for our auditioned instrumental ensembles – THE ENCORE AWARD. In addition to receiving a $200 Academy scholarship, criteria includes a strong work ethic, consistent contribution to the group, exemplary attitude, evidence of musical growth over time and potential for leadership in coming years.

The awards were presented at the Sunday, March 15 concerts in the Lawrence Memorial Chapel by the ensemble conductors. Ian Schuh, violin, received the ASTRO (Academy String Orchestra) award presented by Carrie Gruselle; Amanda Olson, tenor saxophone, and Russell Burton, percussion, received the Symphonic Band awards presented by Jon Meyer and Kathryn Yuill, percussion, and Michael Hughes, trumpet, received the Wind Ensemble awards presented by Laura Sindberg. Congratulations and best wishes to these fine recipients!

Fred Snyder

Director, Lawrence Academy of Music

Leave a Reply