LU Insider

Service Award Milestones and President’s Award of Excellence Recipients

In the continuing efforts of keeping our campus safe from COVID-19, we will be postponing the 2020 Service Award Luncheon. While it was an extremely difficult decision to postpone the luncheon, we do not want to wait any longer to recognize those who achieved a service award milestone in 2020 and celebrate the recipients of our President’s Award of Excellence.

2020 Service Award Recipients

The following individuals celebrated a Service Award milestone in 2020:

5 Years

Rochelle Andrew – Custodian (Custodial)

Kate Bittner – Associate Director of Admissions & Director of Conservatory Admissions (Admissions)

Emily Bowles – Coordinator, Experiential Funding and Professional Networking (Career Center)

Stacy Dercks – Custodian (Custodial)

Jillian Drier – Director of Health Services (Wellness Services)

Andrea Guenther-Pal – Staff Counselor (Wellness Services)

Brandie Jewett – Accounts Payable Specialist (Financial Services)

Holly Laird – Custodian (Custodial)

Joshua Nolan – Electrician (Facility Services)

Patricia Schmidt – Custodian (Custodial)

Katie Seidel – Associate Director of Admissions (Admissions)

Toni Weijola – Conductor of Capriccio Girl Choir (Lawrence Community Music School)

10 Years

Becky Barthelmess – Associate Registrar (Registrar’s Office)

Scott Breyer – General Maintenance, Flooring and Tiles (Facility Services)

Kelly Coenen – Administrative Assistant (Communications)

Bernard Harvath – Boiler Operator/General Maintenance Mechanic (Facility Services)

Kristin McKinley – Director of Research Administration (Research Administration)

Crista Rettler – Student Accounts Specialist (Financial Services)

Shana Shallue – Associate Director of Alumni and Constituency Engagement (Alumni and Constituency Engagement)

Amy Tesch – Executive Assistant (Development)

Jill Thomas – Director of Technical Services and Assistant Professor (Library and Media Center)

Lisa Van Zeeland – Human Resources Manager (Human Resources)

15 Years

Lucas Brown – Assistant Vice President of Development & Campaign Director (Development)

Kim Eckstein – Bjorklunden Operations Manager (Bjorklunden)

Julie Haurykiewicz – Associate Dean of Academic Success and Instructor of the Freshman Academic Institute (Center for Academic Success)

Susan Sullivan – Teacher of String Bass (Lawrence Community Music School)

Laurie Yingling – Assistant Director of Planned Giving (Development)

Jenny Ziegler – Director of Development Analytics (Development)

20 Years

Jodie Bonikowske – Assistant Director of Campus Services – Warch Campus Center (Warch Campus Center)

Erin Buenzli – Assistant Dean of Wellness Services (Wellness Services)

Julia Jackson – Administrative Assistant (Conservatory of Music)

Leslie Outland Michelic – Lecturer of Music and Teacher of Oboe (Lawrence Community Music School)

Charity Rasmussen – Assistant Director of Student Activities (Office of Student Activities)

Steven Schommer – Carpenter (Facility Services)

Nicole Schultz – Custodian (Custodial)

Rodney Watkins – Custodian (Custodial)

25 Years

Sherri Immel – Senior Development Coordinator (Development)

Larisa Topolkaraeva – Teacher of Piano (Lawrence Community Music School)

Amy Van Schyndel – Assistant to the Director of Facility Services (Facility Services)

30 Years

Janet Bond-Sutter – Teacher of Violin and ASTRO Conductor (Lawrence Community Music School)

Peter Gilbert – Alice G. Chapman Director of the Library (Library and Media Center)

Cynthia Patterson – Circulation Services Supervisor (Library and Media Center)

Gregory Volk – Principal Gifts Officer (Development)

45 Years

LeRoy Frahm – Electronics Technician (Physics)

President’s Award of Excellence

President Burstein along with the President’s Award of Excellence Selection Committee are pleased to announce the 2020 President’s Award of Excellence recipients. The awards are based on the following criteria: innovation and enhancement to the university, support of individuals, stewardship of campus resources and facilities, teamwork and collaboration, and fostering a diverse and welcoming community.

The 2020 President’s Award of Excellence recipients are Jon Meyer, Director of Campus Services, and Jillian Drier, Director of Health Services. Take a moment to congratulate Jon and Jillian and watch their nominators here highlight a few of the countless reasons they are so deserving of this recognition.