Making their mark: Lawrentians well represented among Fox Cities 2017 Future 15 award winners

Lawrence University graduates and employees are clearly making their mark in the Fox Cities based on the 2017 Future 15 Award winners.

Four of this year’s 15 honorees are Lawrence graduates, including one who is a  current member of the staff: Fanny Lau ’14, Elyse Lucas ’10, Paris Wicker ’08 and Oliver Zornow ’10. This year’s winners were selected from a pool of more than 100 nominees.A photo of Fox Cities Future 15 Young Professional Awards logo.

All of the honorees will be recognized March 2 at the Young Professional Awards banquet held at the Opera House in Hortonville.

The Future 15 awards are part of the Pulse Young Professionals, a program of the Fox Cities Chamber of Commerce and the Fox Cities Regional Partnership, in collaboration with Post-Crescent Media.

The program recognizes young business and community leaders for their efforts in work, civic and charitable causes. Future 15 recipients are chosen based on their dedication, strong sense of vision for the Fox Cities and understanding of the importance of volunteering and giving back.

Lau, a former field organizer with the Democratic Party of Wisconsin, is currently an intern with Legal Action of Wisconsin. Lucas is an art teacher in the Appleton Area School District. Wicker is the associate dean of students for campus programs at Lawrence. Zornow is the community engagement manager for the Building for Kids Children’s Museum and the Fox Valley Symphony Orchestra.

A Head shot of Lawrence University graduate Fanny Lau.
Fanny Lau ’14 spent two years working in Lawrence’s Alumni and Constituency Engagement office after graduation.
A Head shot of Lawrence University graduate Paris Wicker.
Since graduating in 2008, Paris Wicker has held positions in Lawrence’s admissions office, student affairs office and is currently associate dean of students for campus programs.

“A source of pride for all of us at Lawrence is how many alumni choose to stay in the Fox Valley and remain connected to the college and the community in many ways,” said Mark Breseman, associate vice president of alumni and constituency engagement. “The community bonds these alumni have established while they were in school remain and are strengthened following their graduation.

Since 2011 when the Future 15 program was launched, 11 Lawrence graduates and employees have been recognized. Past recipients include:

• 2016 —Jamie Cartwright ’14; Carolyn Armstrong Deorosiers ’10; Jennifer Dieter ’03; Josh Dukelow ’02.

• 2015— Nathan Litt ’08

• 2014 —Monica Rico, associate professor of history

• 2013 — Korey Krueger ’95

“It is a real testament to the quality of our students that so many of them have been nominated and selected for the Future 15 program over the years,” said Breseman. “Our students not only excel in the classroom, but they continue to make a difference and give back to the community to which they belong.”

The field of Future 15 nominees — which are submitted without names or personal details — are narrowed to 25 by past Future 15 winners narrowed them down to 25. A panel of community leaders than rate the nominations, which accounts for 90 percent of the decision. The final 10 percent is based on community votes cast on The Post-Crescent’s website.

For details on attending the awards banquet, visit

About Lawrence University
Founded in 1847, Lawrence University uniquely integrates a college of liberal arts and sciences with a nationally recognized conservatory of music, both devoted exclusively to undergraduate education. It was selected for inclusion in the book “Colleges That Change Lives: 40 Schools That Will Change the Way You Think About College.”  Engaged learning, the development of multiple interests and community outreach are central to the Lawrence experience. Lawrence draws its 1,500 students from nearly every state and more than 50 countries.