Professor William Chaney

Tag: Professor William Chaney

Beloved Professor Emeritus William Chaney Remembered in May 18 Memorial Service

A memorial service celebrating the life and distinguished career of Lawrence University Professor Emeritus of History William A. Chaney will be held Saturday, May 18 at 11 a.m. in the Lawrence Memorial Chapel.

A live webcast of the service will be available here.

President Jill Beck, 1985 graduate Jon Vanden Heuvel, Provost David Burrows, Professor of History Jerald Podair and Professor Emeritus of Government Minoo Adenwalla are scheduled to speak at the service.

In addition, Lawrence Conservatory of Music faculty members Kenneth Bozeman, John Daniel, Katherine Handford, Samantha George, Steven Spears, Jeffrey Stannard and sophomore Brandon Kreuder will perform during the service.

An iconic figure in the history of the college, Chaney died at his Appleton home March 15 at the age of 90.

A scholar of the Middle Ages, Chaney joined the Lawrence faculty in 1952 and was appointed the George McKendree Steele Professor of Western Culture in 1966. After officially retiring in 1999 after 47 years, he continued teaching one class First and Third Terms, including one last fall. His 61-years of teaching is the second-longest tenure in Lawrence’s history.

He was honored in 1973 as the first recipient of Lawrence’s Uhrig Award for Excellence in Teaching in 1973.

A legendary lecturer, Chaney captivated his audience, whether in the classroom, a Bjorklunden seminar room or at an alumni event. For many years, he hosted “salons” at his home, inviting small groups of students for intellectual discussions accompanied by classical music.

He earned his bachelor’s and doctorate degrees at the University of California-Berkeley and was a Fellow of the Society of Fellows at Harvard University. He was the author of the book “The Cult of Kingship in Anglo-Saxon England and contributed dozens of articles and reviews to professional journals.

Funds are being collected to bolster the William A. Chaney Fund for Excellence in History, an endowment that was established in 2011 to honor Professor Chaney. Funds from the endowment will be awarded for the first time to support Senior Experience projects, trips to archives, original research and other activities that immerse students in the real world of history.

Those who wish to contribute to this endowed fund may do so online or by calling 920-832-6557.

About Lawrence University
Founded in 1847, Lawrence University uniquely integrates a college of liberal arts and sciences with a nationally recognized conservatory of music, both devoted exclusively to undergraduate education. It was selected for inclusion in the Fiske Guide to Colleges 2013 and the book “Colleges That Change Lives: 40 Schools That Will Change the Way You Think About College.” Individualized learning, the development of multiple interests and community engagement are central to the Lawrence experience. Lawrence draws its 1,500 students from nearly every state and more than 50 countries. Follow Lawrence on Facebook.

Lawrence University Celebrates 160th Commencement, Honors New York Times Columnist

APPLETON, WIS. — In recognition of his professional achievements, Lawrence University will award New York Times op-ed columnist Bob Herbert an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree Sunday, June 14 at the college’s 160th commencement. As part of commencement exercises, Herbert also will address the graduating seniors.

Lawrence is expected to confer 324 bachelor of arts and/or music degrees to 314 seniors from 32 states and 14 foreign countries during graduation ceremonies that begin at 10:30 a.m. on the Main Hall green.

William Chaney, George McKendree Steele Professor Emeritus of History, delivers the address “College and the Final Exam” at a baccalaureate service Saturday, June 13 at 11 a.m. in the Lawrence Memorial Chapel. The baccalaureate service and commencement are free and open to the public.

During commencement, President Jill Beck, Lawrence Board of Trustees Chair Harry Jansen Kraemer ’77 and seniors Nora Taylor of Chicago and James Duncan Welke of Appleton will join Herbert in addressing the graduates.

An award-winning journalist, Herbert has enjoyed a career spanning both print and broadcast media. Since June 1993, he has written a twice-a-week column on politics, urban affairs and social trends for the New York Times, telling stories that give ordinary people hope and a voice. Prior to joining the Times, he spent two years as a national correspondent for NBC, reporting for “The Today Show and “NBC Nightly News.”

Born in Brooklyn, Herbert began his journalism career in 1970 as a reporter with The Star-Ledger in Newark, N.J. He joined The Daily News in New York in 1976 as a general assignment reporter and later served as national correspondent, consumer affairs editor, city hall bureau chief and city editor. He was appointed to the paper’s editorial board in 1985 and began writing columns that ran in The Daily News for eight years.

He launched his broadcast career in 1990 as a founding panelist of “Sunday Edition,” a weekly discussion program on WCBS-TV in New York and also served as host of “Hotline,” a weekly hour-long issues program on WNYC-TV.

His writing has earned Herbert numerous awards, including the American Society of Newspaper Editors award in 1988 for distinguished deadline writing, Columbia University School of Journalism’s 1989 Mike Berger Award, which honors distinguished and enterprising reporting by New York journalists and most recently, the 2008 David Nyhan Prize from the Shorenstein Center at Harvard University for excellence in political reporting. He is a former chairman of the Pulitzer Prize jury for spot news reporting.

Herbert is the author of the 2005 book “Promises Betrayed: Waking Up from the American Dream,” a collection of essays in which he examines the lives of ordinary citizens, minorities and children who are facing real problems in a society he argues too often fails to meet the American creed of fairness and justice.

Read Herbert’s charge to the Class of 2009.